• Jaufenpass

Jaufenpass - Penser Joch

South Tyrolean beauty

Route: Prad – Meran – Riffian – St. Leonhard im Passeiertal – Jaufen Pass – Sterzing – Penser Joch – Sarntal – Bozen – Terlan – Mölten – Hafling – Meran – Prad

Lenght: 305 km
Journey time: 6 hours

Starting from Prad we ride through the Vinschgau Valley and its beautiful orchards towards Meran. After crossing the spa-city we head off to the village of Riffian until St. Leonhard in the Passeier Valley. In St. Leonhard we take the road towards Jaufen and reach soon the Jaufen Pass (2099m).

From the pass we ride down to Sterzing and then up to the Penser Joch (2214m). We continue on a very diversified route through the Sarntal to Bozen, the capital city of South Tyrol.

After crossing the city, we ride along the Weinstraße (“vine-road”) to Terlan and up to Mölten. From there we have a wonderful to the landscapes between Bozen and Meran.

At the end of our journey we ride to Hafling where we may admire the beautiful “Haflinger” horses. Then we ride back to Meran and along the Vinschgauer state road back again to Prad.